Welcome to the official website of the Florida Home Education Program in Miami-Dade County Public Schools. This site is filled with resources designed to support the home school education community. We trust that you will find these resources useful!
Information on the FLDOE Summer 2018 Florida Standards Assessments (FSA) End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments (Algebra 1, Geometry) and NGSSS EOC Assessments (Biology 1 and US History) test administrations.
If participating, the parent/guardian must register the student to test by completing and submitting electronically the Test Registration Form to the Home Education Program by Friday, June 22, 2018 for the FSA EOC Assessments (Algebra 1, Geometry) and NGSSS EOC Assessments (Biology 1 and US History) assessments.
Please read the Parent Letter for more information. Thank you
Jennifer D. Andreu, Administrative Director
Federal & State Compliance Office
Home Education Program
A student must be of school age to enroll in Home Education, as specified in section
1003.21, Florida Statutes (F.S.). Further, home education students in grades K through 12 are required to have age-appropriate immunizations along with proper health certificates to
participate in any Miami-Dade County Public School campus-based activity or testing -
To enroll your child in Home Education, the custodial parent of the student is to:
- Submit electronically the Notice of Intent
within 30 days to establish a home education program -
s.1002.41 home education programs. Prior to enrolling in home education, the child must be withdrawn from a public or private school. If the child has never been enrolled in a Miami-Dade
County Public School, the Notice of Intent is to be submitted along with requested district documentation.
- Maintain a portfolio containing work samples, reading lists (title, author), a log of educational activities and any other materials used/ or developed
by the student. Each student's portfolio is to be kept for two years and be made available for inspection by the Superintendent's designee, with a 15-day written notice.
- Provide an Annual Evaluation no later than your anniversary date.
- Submit a Notice of Termination to conclude the home education program within
30 days of termination.
All documents associated with Home Education are to be sent electronically to the Home Education Office
Resource links of information specific to the home education community are as follows:
The walk-in hours for the Home Education Office are from 9:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. For additional information, call (305) 883-5310.