Jennifer D. Andreu, Administrative Director
Federal & State Compliance Office
Driver License & School Attendance Program
Driving a motor vehicle is a privilege that can be revoked for students who develop patterns of non-attendance. The Florida legislature requires that school age children between the ages of 14 and 18 meet attendance requirements to maintain driving privileges, according to f.s. 322.091. Students who accumulate 15 or more unexcused absences in any 90 calendar day period, or who have dropped out of school are electronically reported to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles for license suspension or revocation. After notifying students, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles initiates two actions until such time when students comply with attendance requirements:
- A Notice of Intent to Suspend is recorded by the DHSMV for all licensed students; and
- An entry of Non-Compliance is entered by the DHSMV for all unlicensed students that withhold eligibility to apply for a driver license.
The Federal & State Compliance Office oversees the reporting of non-compliant students to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, which include truant and withdrawn students of compulsory school age that have not completed school. Board Policy 5200 - Attendance establishes attendance recording procedures and details the district’s responsibility to enforce school attendance, and report habitual truant students to the State’s driver license agency.
Reinstatement of driving privileges for students in traditional schools is contingent upon students attending 30 consecutive school days with no unexcused absences, after the last unexcused absence: students enrolled in the district’s Florida Home Education Program are eligible only after 30 days of enrollment have elapsed. To verify compliance of attendance requirements, the following is to occur:
- School principals complete the Notification to The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, Student Compliance with Attendance Requirements Form (HSMV 72870);
- Staff at the Federal & State Compliance Office complete for students enrolled in the District’s Florida Home Education Program the Notification to The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Student Compliance with Enrollment Requirements for a Home Education Program Form (HSMV 72871).
Students must submit the verification document within 30 days of the date of the form, to a local driver license office for processing, and may contact the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles at (850) 617-3811 for additional inquiries requiring this state mandate.
For inquiries regarding the District’s reporting compliance for students with patterns of non-attendance, you may contact the Driver License Administrator at (305) 883-5323. Thank You.